July 22, 2011

BOOK REVIEW: The Iron Knight by Julie Kagawa

Author:  Julie Kagawa
Category:  Young Adult Fiction
Publisher: Harlequin TEEN

It is hard to say goodbye to the book series I love most, but say goodbye I must.  Having finished the final installment to Julie Kagawa’s The Iron Fey series just moments ago, I need to start writing my review before I start reading it again …… and again.  Yes I am a happy reader.  The Iron Knight is worth the wait.

The book starts with Ash (prince of the Unseelie court) and Puck (Seelie court jester) looking for Grimalkin, the annoying know-it-all cait sith (in human terms: a cat).  But going through the Wyldwood is never easy. After battling many monsters, they finally find Grim, only to be joined later on by the eternal enemy of the cat, the Big Bad Wolf (whom we met in WINTER’S PASSAGE…. And Little Red Riding Hood).

Ash’s quest is to get a soul and become human, as the soulless immortal fey that he is can not survive in the Iron Realm, which is now the home of his beloved Meghan Chase, the Iron Queen.  But to do so, he has to pass extremely torturous tests, the 1st of which is to face the Seer.   I actually shrieked in surprise when the fey was revealed.   The Seer is the key to the quest.  Yet the question is, will Ash be able to let the Seer go?   

Herein lies the stupefying twist.  Of all the past characters in the book, this was the most unexpected.  For fear of spoiling the gem that is the Iron Knight, I can not say anymore about the plot.
Just know this:  from beginning to end, The Iron Knight is filled with thrilling adventures, unwavering friendship, surprising loyalty and uncompromising love from the most unexpected of characters.   It pulls you in, makes you sympathize with each and every Fey, including the one who may just destroy Ash’s resolve to finish the quest.  Perhaps my only bone to pick with the book is that it didn’t have enough Meghan and Ash moments.  But then again, this is Ash’s version, plus the ending more than made up for the iron queen’s absence.
Beautifully written by Julie Kagawa, this book is a Must read.  Of course you have to start from the very beginning with The Iron King, followed by Winter’s Passage, The Iron Daughter, The Iron Queen and Summer’s Crossing respectively.  But I promise you, all the hours you spend reading the series will be worth it. 
Happy Reading!

1 comment: